Posted by: hevallo | April 4, 2011

>Forcing a Kurdish child to take an oath every morning saying, "I’m a Turk!" is racist.

>

A new step was taken by the Kurdish people as part of the civil disobedience campaign, besides the ongoing Democratic Solution Tents across Turkey. Kurdish people have requested the government to lift the oath taken in schools every morning at elementary level.

According to long procedure, in elementary schools students have to take an oath before their school day begins.

The oath reads; ‘I’m Turkish, honest and hard-working. I’m a Turk, I’m righteous, I’m hard working, my principle, is to protect my minors, is to respect my elders, is to love my country and my nation much more than my own self my law, is to rise, is to go forward. O’ supreme Ataturk, the creator of our today, I swear that I will walk non-stop on the path you opened, on the target you pointed out, on the ideal you founded. Let my existence be bestowed upon the Turkish existence. Happy is the one who calls himself a Turk.”

BDP Co-Chair Selahattin Demirtaş has led the campaign by not allowing her first grade student daughter to take an oath and announced it.

Following his public statement, Kurdish people in the Tents have demanded the pledge be removed in order to end the insulting of the Kurdish People. The Democratic Solution Tents in Aydın, İzmir, Diyarbakır, Kızıltepe, a district of Mardin; Batman, Şırnak and its districts Silopi, Cizre and İdil are still flooded by visitors.

In addition, Democratic Society Congress (DTK) Co-Chair Ahmet Turk congratulated the Kurdish people for having made another step in the civil disobedience campaign during his speech made yesterday at a meeting in Diyarbakır.

He also said that the government’s effort to change the agenda is not going to work since the people are determined and highly mobilized for their very just demands.

“Forcing a Kurdish child to say “I’m a Turk” is nothing but a racist approach. It is so right for Kurds to be against it.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

